stillenacht-oberndorf-grabenseeSilent Night Chapel & Museum

The chapel, whose architecture was deliberately kept simple and modest, draws guests from all over the world all the year round. And it is this simplicity that makes it so charming. After twelve years of construction, it was consecrated in 1937. It was funded by donations and built on the site of the former St. Nicholas’s Church. Both windows show the creators of the world famous christmas song „Silent night, holy night“, Joseph Mohr and Franz Xaver Gruber. The altarpiece consists of a wooden relief created by Hermann Hutter in 1915.